Ethiopia’s Ministry of Foreign Affairs to open consular offices in 4 regional states


Ethiopia’s Ministry of Foreign Affairs to open consular offices in 4 regional states

Why the ministry of foreign affairs opted for opening offices in selected ethnic-based regions in the country rather than expanding its services in the capital Addis Ababa seem to raise questions for some.

August 24, 2019


Ethiopia’s Ministry of Foreign Affairs says that it will open consular offices in four of Ethiopia’s ethnic-based regions.

According to Fana Broadcasting Corporation (FBC) report on Friday, Oromia, Tigray, Amhara and Southern Nations, Nationalities and People’s region are the four regions that will have consular offices.

The offices will be tasked to verify educational and other legal documents, and the ministry says it is intended to overcome delays of document verification.

Yohannes Shade, who is consular affairs director-general within the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, reportedly said that overseas work deployment document verification work created workload in addition to education, birth, and marriage document verification services.

The Ministry of Foreign Affairs Head office in Addis Ababa anticipates a reduction in workload as a result of the opening of these offices.

Inquires from foreign countries, which are signatories of agreement with Ethiopia, for document verification will also be processed in these consular offices.

These offices will be operational within two months, according to the FBC report.

Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Ethiopia introduced numerous reform measures after Abiy Ahmed became prime minister.

Source: Borkena



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.